Coming Home, Eating Well, & Nut Butter Coconut Cookies (GF and Dairy Free)

Finally home! After countless hours on buses, planes, in airports, bus terminals, taxi rides, catching a few hours of sleep here and there, I arrived back in Houston yesterday morning. I spent most of the day sleeping (and all night!) and awoke this morning feeling *slightly* more human. Not having slept much the past few weeks and having eaten less-than-good for me food, I am happy to be home to rest and eat well. My body is feeling less than 100% right now, but luckily my parents HUGE fridge and pantry has everything I need to nourish myself well over the next few weeks!

This morning began with a smoothie, shared with my momma: IMG_1637IMG_1638I used to LOATHE any type of runniness in my eggs. After one of my hostel stays, however, I was converted. Breakfast was a base of quinoa topped with italian sausage, avocado, and a runny fried egg. IMG_1641

Now that I’m home in my parent’s stocked kitchen, I can start to knock out my THREE PAGES of recipes I collected while in Ecuador and spent some of my free time drooling over food blogs. My mom is mostly gluten free, my dad is a diabetic, and dairy doesn’t always sit too well with me. So I present to you a dairy free, flour-less, GF cookie! Based roughly off of Homemade Delish’s PB cookie recipe.

Nut Butter Coconut Cookies: 
1/4 cup macadamia nuts
1/2 cup cashews
1/2 cup crunchy peanut butter
1 egg
1/4 cup flax
1/3 cup unsweetened coconut
1/3 cup coconut sugar
2 TB honey
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp cinnamon

I started by toasting off the macadamia nuts. IMG_1643

Then process together the macadamia nuts, cashews, and peanut butter until it has the texture of a chunky nut butter. I used roasted and salted cashews–if you use raw nuts, you’ll want to add 1/4-1/2 tsp sea salt.

IMG_1645IMG_1651

Add flax seed, egg, coconut, coconut sugar, honey, vanilla, and the cinnamon. IMG_1655Process until blended well. IMG_1657Spoon onto parchment paper or a baking sheet (I’m obsessed!) in small dollops.

IMG_1660Bake in a 350 oven for 8-10 minutes. You don’t want to overcook these–closer to 8 minutes, they are delicious and chewy!

IMG_1670Enjoy with some nice dairy free milk! Makes 20-25 bite sized cookies, perfect if there aren’t too many people in your family and if you can’t control yourself around sweets 🙂

Approx. Nutrition Stats:
85 cal
6 g fat
6 g carbohydrates (1 fiber, 5 sugar)
2.5 g protein

This entry was published on August 8, 2013 at 2:08 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Coming Home, Eating Well, & Nut Butter Coconut Cookies (GF and Dairy Free)

  1. pollyheath on said:

    Interesting! I’d like to try this if it ever cools down enough to turn on the oven.

  2. 3 pages of recipes… Look like you have your work cut out. Looking forward to reading about them!

  3. Thanks for visiting my blog 🙂 These look delicious- can’t wait to try them, Anna

Leave a Reply

