A look at the life

IMG_2176

Yesterday, we resumed class. This is our last week of class like this–we have an exam on Friday to put us into our new language levels, and I have to say I am ready for the next etapa of this trip. I can’t wait to get out into the other groups and mix and mingle. I was thinking today as almost our whole group was wandering around a neat part of Madrid how blessed I am to be in such a neat group of people who are relaxed, interesting, and want to do stuff together.

But sometimes in my eagerness to get to know Madrid, madrileños, and experience new things I don’t feel as grateful for my group as I should. Instead, I feel claustrophobic and constrained, which I’m trying to work on/figure out. I have to just keep reminding myself 1)This is the second week. 2) I have been here for 8 days. 3)It took me a long time to feel like I had found my niche and fit in Ecuador. 

And these experiences will be different! I am trying to find a good balance of time with my Furman buddies while also wanting to make Spanish friends. Any advice from anyone on how to get some good local friends in the short time I’m here?

Yesterday was a great day, and indicative of how days have been here thus far. What is a typical day? Wake up at 7, out of the house by 7:45. Walk to the metro, and then from the metro, walk to class. We have class from 8:30 until 1, when my roommate and I take the half hour+ walk home instead of going on the metro. Lunch at 2:30 or 3. A siesta.

Then, we went to check out the vertical gardens. I had no idea where/what they were, but it turned out to be pretty neat!IMG_2205

On the walk there, we found this book fair. Is this real life? I don’t know. IMG_2180IMG_2192IMG_2188

IMG_2184

After reading this post  the day before by Paulo Coehlo and craving his writing in my life, I found one by him in Spanish. I bought it immediately.

We found the verticle gardens, and then a cool museum. I felt as though I was walking into my secret lair when we approached the door to this semi-underground structure and the glass panels slid open to reveal a metallic, stone-like stairs leading en dentro.

IMG_2198

IMG_2208

IMG_2210IMG_2217

Afterwards, café at a very American style café. I want to go back and become best friends with the baristas, mostly because they were adorable and I am craving more Spanish in my life!

IMG_2214

Home, homework. Dinner. We finish dinner at 10:30 usually (still not adjusted to this Spanish schedule! Spain, WHAT ARE YOU DOING. EAT AT NORMAL PEOPLE HOURS), and then get ready for bed. In bed by 11:15, reading for awhile, hopefully asleep by midnight. Our food has improved tremendously over the past few days, and we’ve been enjoying most of our meals on our terraza. I like to do my homework out here as well, and read and write. I’m actually sitting on the terraza as I type, watching the sunset. This is the view from our twelfth floor apartment’s terraza:IMG_2225

IMG_2244

Small personal update: I’ve started working on my novel again, and I feel like I am arreglar*-ing my insides and they are happy because of it.

arreglar: to fix, to repair, to let out, to settle, to organize, to tidy up, to sort out, to improve.

This entry was published on September 10, 2013 at 12:23 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “A look at the life

  1. Thank you for taking the time to post. I love being able to see what you are up to even though we are so far apart and with such different schedules! Madrid is stunning… Also, please do not marry a spainard just so you can live there! 🙂 I would be so sad. Unless we could visit you all the time. Miss you!! Sorry for all the exclamation points, it’s just that I’m so excited for you!

Leave a Reply

